THE SIR DENIS MAHON AWARD at the Royal Drawing School

The Mahon Award was created to honour the memory of Sir Denis Mahon and his lifelong passion for painting and drawing.
During his lifetime he was a great supporter of the Royal Drawing School (formerly The Prince’s Drawing School) and this annual award was created to give a recent graduate of The Drawing year the opportunity to continue to focus on drawing from observation and to develop their work.

A prize of £10,000 is awarded to an outgoing Drawing Year student each year to enable them to continue their practice as an artist, it runs from March to March and the award goes towards a studio space for the duration of the year as well as a solo exhibition.

The artists who have so far received the award are:

  • 2023-24 Keziah Philipps
  • 2022-23 Christina Kimeze
  • 2021-22 Jack McGarrity
  • 2020-21 Deanio X
  • 2019-20 Irene Montemurro
  • 2018-19 Joana Galego
  • 2017-18 Holly Froy
  • 2016-17 Naomi Trevor
  • 2015-16 Rosie Vohra
  • 2014-15 Jessie Makinson
  • 2013-14 Jonathan Farr
  • 2012-13 Tom Sander
  • 2011-12 Alex Cree

KEZIAH PHILIPPS is the recipient of The Sir Denis Mahon Award 2023-2024.

She studied Animation at Kingston University, attaining first class honours and seizing upon a passion for printmaking, for which she received a special commendation for Expanded Animation Practice. She went on to study printmaking intensively at Grand Valley State University in Michigan for a year, and learned traditional craft skills, before her year at The Royal Drawing School.

Keziah’s work currently involves found objects and collected natural materials; she often carries prepared copper plates to draw from observation on location.  The prize of £10,000 will support Keziah as she continues her artistic journey, culminating in a solo show next year.

Artworks by Keziah Philipps


MAHON AWARD 2023-2024

Winner: Keziah Philipps

MAHON AWARD 2022-2023

Winner: Christina Kimeze

MAHON AWARD 2021-2022

Winner: Jack McGarrity

MAHON AWARD 2020-2021

Winner: Deanio X

MAHON AWARD 2019-2020

Winner: Irene Montemurro


8 November 2018

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.